All pictures on this site are © Don Miles 
unless stated otherwise

Finchley Gunns take Premier League
Sep 19

Finchley Gunns: New ECB Premier League champs

On a mixed weather day in High Wycombe, the 52nd match of the annual ECB National Women's Premier League came to a dramatic conclusion.

The final saw the winners of the North Division, Sheffield United play the winners of the South division, Finchley Gunns.

[Finchely Gunns © Photos Unlimited]

For the bowlers the wicket proved to be as Sheffield United tallied up a comprehensive 247 runs in their allocated 50 overs. Urooj Khan, Lauren Winfield and Saliann Briggs in the middle order accumulated some well needed middle order, end of innings runs. Winfield scored her 82 not out off just 51 balls.

During the interval, the summers’ foe arrived, rain. With a reduced overs second innings the revised total of 233 off 45 overs looked daunting for Finchley Gunns, especially when then lost two early wickets.

However when Charlotte Edwards MBE, Current England Women's captain and Danielle Wyatt, England player came to the crease to amass a winning partnership of 216. Edwards overtook Wyatt in runs and comprehensively scored 114 not out, off 102 balls. Wyatt missed out on her hundred as the winning runs were unfortunately scored through a wide ball leaving Wyatt stranded on 98 not out.

The finalists were different to the final of 2010 – were Reading Ridgeway (Berkshire) saw off Ransome and Marles (Nottinghamshire). Finchley Gunns have only won this title once before under their previous name; Gunnersbury, this was back in 2001, 10 years ago.

[Finchely Gunns © Photos Unlimited]

 Pictures – provided kindly by “Photos Unlimited”.
Details and more pictures can be found on www.photosunlimited.org.uk


  • There were are over 230 women's teams playing regular competitive cricket across England and Wales during 2011
  • There are now 543 clubs that have exit routes for women and girls in England and Wales
  • The ECB National Premier league consists of 12 teams split into 2 equal divisions – underneath the premier leagues there are 5 Regional Leagues and county leagues