April 6


England and International Players announced for 2017 Kia Super League


The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) today announced the player allocations for this summer’s Kia Super League.
All 18 centrally contracted England players and 16 overseas players from four different nations, are set to feature in the tournament’s second edition. The two remaining overseas players will be confirmed at a later date.
England’s Danielle Wyatt will switch from Lancashire Thunder to the Southern Vipers as a replacement for the unavailable Lydia Greenway while England player, Danielle Hazell, will represent Lancashire Thunder as their new captain.
Last season’s title winners, the Southern Vipers will again call on two former England internationals in Charlotte Edwards and Arran Brindle as well as Tash Farrant from the current England squad.
Several overseas players will make their Kia Super League debut this summer after competing in the ICC Women’s World Cup. Australia’s Jess Jonassen will join Lancashire Thunder, whilst her team-mates Kristen Beams and Elyse Villani will represent Loughborough Lightning.
Overseas players who featured in last year’s inaugural competition are also on the move with Hayley Matthews (West Indies) switching to the Southern Vipers, Sophie Devine (New Zealand) joining the Yorkshire Diamonds and Lea Tahuhu (New Zealand) signing up for the Lancashire Thunder.
ECB Director of Women’s Cricket Clare Connor said:
“This is a huge summer for women’s cricket and we look forward to seeing the world’s best talent on show at both the ICC Women’s World Cup followed by the Kia Super League. There will hopefully be some great momentum behind women’s cricket after the World Cup and the Kia Super League can take advantage of that. It is an opportunity to continue to raise the bar for our sport.
“After the success of 2016, we know we can expect to see some outstanding performances in the second season of this T20 competition. Hopefully the players and the quality of cricket can inspire new participants and fans across the country.”
New Lancashire Thunder captain Danielle Hazell said:
“It’s a real honour to be named captain of the Lancashire Thunder. I thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to captain England for a game during the winter against Sri Lanka and I’m looking forward to building on my captaincy experience and hopefully leading the Thunder to a successful season.”
After the success of the first Kia Super League last summer, the second season will see six teams taking part in a round-robin competition over a 17-day period and across 13 different venues from Thursday 10 August to Saturday 26 August. The competition will climax in a showcase finals day on Friday 1 September at the 1st Central County Ground in Hove.
Kia Super League will be broadcast live on television and radio this summer with Sky Sports providing live coverage of six ‘double-headers’ alongside NatWest T20 Blast matches. They will also broadcast finals day, with BBC Radio covering every round of matches, alongside finals day.
England Women’s Squad and overseas player allocations in full: 



Lancashire Thunder

Kate Cross

Danielle Hazell

Sarah Taylor

Jess Jonassen (AUS)

Amy Satterthwaite (NZ)

Lea Tahuhu (NZ)

Loughborough Lightning

Georgia Elwiss

Amy Jones

Beth Langston

Kristen Beams (AUS)

Ellyse Perry (AUS)

Elyse Villani (AUS)

Southern Vipers

Tash Farrant

Danielle Wyatt

Suzie Bates (NZ)

Hayley Matthews (WI)

Dane van Niekerk (SA)

Surrey Stars

Tammy Beaumont

Alex Hartley

Laura Marsh

Natalie Sciver

Rene Farrell (AUS)

Marizanne Kapp (SA)

Western Storm

Heather Knight

Anya Shrubsole

Fran Wilson

Rachel Priest (NZ)

Stafanie Taylor (WI)

Yorkshire Diamonds

Katherine Brunt

Jenny Gunn

Lauren Winfield

Sophie Devine (NZ)

Sune Luus (SA)

Beth Mooney (AUS)