ICC Team of the Tournament
July 6


England women prepare to start their journey on the road
to the 2017 ICC Women’s World Cup

Three-match Royal London Women’s ODI series between England and India to be streamed live on the ECB’s YouTube channel
England women will get their 2017 ICC Women’s World Cup qualification campaign underway this summer when they take on India in the first round of the new ICC Women’s Championship (ICC WC).
The ICC WC involves the top eight ranked women’s teams, with results determining qualification for the ICC Women’s World Cup to be held in England and Wales in 2017. Over the next two and a half years all teams in the top eight will play each other in One-Day Internationals at home or away to create an ICC WC league table with the top four teams qualifying automatically for the ICC Women’s World Cup. Countries finishing in the bottom four of the table will take part in a World Cup qualification tournament against teams from the ICC’s regional structures to determine the final participants for the event in 2017.
Charlotte Edwards and her England side will be hoping to set the early pace in the ICC WC as they take on India in a three-match Royal London Women’s ODI series in August. The action gets underway with matches at Scarborough Cricket Club on Thursday August 21 and Saturday August 23, with the series culminating at Lord’s on Monday August 25.
ECB has also announced today that all three Royal London Women’s ODI matches against India this summer will be streamed live around the world on the ECB’s YouTube channel.
Ahead of the ODI series, England will start their international summer by taking on India in a Test match at Wormsley Cricket Ground from August 13-16. BBC Radio will be providing live ball-by-ball commentary of the Test via BBC Radio 5 Live Sports Extra and online on www.bbc.co.uk/cricket.
ECB Head of England Women’s Cricket, Clare Connor, said: “The ICC Women’s Championship represents a significant step for the global development of the women’s game. For the first time, international women’s cricket will follow a long-term future tours programme to generate a meaningful ranking system to decide which countries qualify for the ICC Women’s World Cup in England in 2017.
“It is hoped that the ICC WC will increase the profile and competitiveness of the women’s game outside of World Cup years, as it guarantees a regular and balanced programme of ODI cricket, with more countries involved than ever before.
“It is exciting that England women will be involved in the first round of these matches and for them to be streamed live via the ECB’s YouTube channel allows cricket fans across the world to tune in and watch the action unfold.”
Following the three ODIs against India, England will welcome South Africa women for a three match NatWest Twenty20 International series. All three matches will be shown live on Sky Sports, with the third match on Sunday September 7 being played before the men’s NatWest T20 International between England and India at Edgbaston. The Essex County Ground in Chelmsford will host the first IT20 on Monday September 1 and the County Ground, Northampton, will be the venue for second game on Wednesday September 3.

ICC Women’s Championship Teams

Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies

England's 2014 Summer

South Africa women last toured England in 2008, with England winning a five match One Day International series 4-0 (with one match abandoned without a result) and a three match Twenty20 International series 3-0.
Follow England women’s 2014 international summer live via the following media:
· Live radio commentary will be provided by BBC Radio 5Live Sports Extra or online on the BBC for all England women’s fixtures.
· Live television coverage of the three NatWest T20Is will be available on Sky Sports.
· Live video stream of the three Royal London ODIs will be available to view via youtube and ECB